Jamie KahThe 3 Point Motors William Reid Stakes is a 1200 metre Weight-for-Age race for horses aged three years and above.

The 3 Point Motors William Reid is the fourth and final Group 1 on The Valley Racing Calendar, and it is also the last Group 1 Sprint in the Victorian Autumn. 

The William Reid Stakes been won twice by the LEGENDARY Black Caviar in 2011 and 2013, and an incredible five times by “The Man,” Manikato from 1979 to 1983.

The 3 Point Motors William Reid Stakes will be hosted on Saturday 23rd March 2024 and is set to boast a $1 million purse,standing it just behind the Ladbrokes Manikato Stakes as one of the richest races in Australia.  

loading cart
$25 - $40
General Admission

Moonee Valley

Pre-purchase your General Admission Tickets and save today. Entry for children under the age of 17 years is complimentary to their guardians'.


Value Pack

Moonee Valley

Back your first winner and save with a Value Pack: 3 drinks + 1 food voucher + admission. A combination of everything you need for a day at the races at one discounted price.


Members' Jockey Bar

Moonee Valley

A location second to none, your guests will not miss a moment of the racing action with views overlooking the racecourse and mounting yard.


$230 - $250
Dining Box by Dean & McPherson

Moonee Valley

Sweeping racetrack views, a 5-Course Tasting menu and all-inclusive beverage packages. You will have an unforgettable experience.


Garden Suites

Moonee Valley

Garden Suites are a private outdoor area for your group to relax and enjoy an up-close view of the track.


Insert Image HereThe William Reid Stakes was named after William Reid who served as a committee member at Moonee Valley Racing Club in the early 1900’s.

Originally from Morayshire, Scotland, William Reid was a Victorian Banker and racehorse owner who owned dual Caulfield Cup winner Uncle Same, winning in 1912 and 1914 and running third in the 1912 Melbourne Cup.

Reid passed away in 1923, and in 1925 the William Reid Stakes was run for the first time and won by Night Patrol, who also won the following year in 1926.

The race changed name to the Australia Made Stakes from 1994-1995 and then to the Australia Stakes from 1996-2009, before returning to the William Reid Stakes in 2010, not to be confused with the now Group 2 Australia Stakes which was previously called the Norman Carlyon Stakes and Stanley Wootton Stakes.

Insert Image HereRun over 1200m at weight-for-age conditions, the William Reid Stakes has been won by some of the Champions of the Australian Turf, but none had a better record in the race than the Mighty Manikato who won five in a row from 1979-1983.

Since then, some other star sprinters that have etched their names on the trophy include Vo Rogue in 1988, Zedative 1989, Hareeba 1995, Cape of Good Hope 2005, Miss Andretti 2007, Apache Cat 2008-2009, and the invincible Black Caviar won in 2011 and 2013.

In 2019 three-year-old filly Sunlight won, taking out her third Group 1 and in 2020 another three-year-old filly Loving Gaby completed the Manikato/ William Reid double.

RACE FIRST RUN: Saturday, January 24, 1925

$31 (Toledo-2002); 25/1 (Spanish Mix-1993, Tranquil Star-1946)

$1.03f (Black Caviar-2013); $1.09f (Black Caviar-2011)

Bob Hoysted (6), Angus Armanasco, Jack Holt, Paddy Quinlan (4), Owen Marshall, Peter Moody (3)

Roy Higgins, Jack Purtell, Gary Willetts (5), Darren Gauci, Bill Williamson (3)

Ascend Sales Trophies Handicap $75,000 1600m
Regency Fireplaces Handicap $75,000 1200m
Listed Brix Property Group Valley Pearl St Albans Stakes $175,000 1200m
Caspers Pies & Pastries Handicap $75,000 2040m
Group 2 BMD Group Sunline Stakes $300,000 1600m
Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge Final $130,000 955m
Group 1 3 Point Motors William Reid Stakes $1,000,000 1200m
Group 3 Dynamic Print Group Alexandra Stakes $200,000 1600m