The Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge is a pure test of speed over 955 metres. The barriers are positioned in the 1000 metre chute and the challenge will be to see which horse can break the 55 second mark across the 2019/20 Night Racing 'Ladbrokes Friday Night Lights' Season.

On each of the night meetings in season 2019/20, The Valley will stage a 55 Second Challenge heat, with each heat carrying minimum prize money of $55,000.

The trainer of the fastest heat winner will win a cheque valued at $55,000 thanks to our partners at Ladbrokes.

Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge - Terms and Conditions

Season Winners  |  Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge
 Season Horse
 Trainer Time
 2019/20 Bella Vella
 Will Clarken 54.84
 2018/19 Written Choice
Logan McGill  54.77 
2017/18  Sunday Escape
 Andrew Murray 54.75 
2016/17 Sirbible
Russell Bell  54.84
Tuscan Sling
Darren Weir   54.90
 Beach Front
 Brent Stanley  55.08
 Anthony Freedman  55.36
Byron Cozamanis   54.69*
 General Truce
Ricky Maund   55.26
 La Bella Roo
 Peter Boynton  55.48

* 955 metre rack record.

Fri 27 Sept
BM84 Handicap Humma Humma
John McArdle
Fri 4 Oct BM64 Handicap Hearty Lass
John Hyam
Fri 25 Oct 0-84 Handicap Bella Vella Will Clarken 55.10
Fri 1 Nov BM70 Handicap Rebel Miss Matthew Smith 55.68
Fri 15 Nov BM70 Handicap All Cylinders Peter Robl 55.95
Fri 22 Nov BM84 Handicap Bold Star Gordon Richards 55.13
Fri 6 Dec BM64 Handicap Deploys Alone John Sadler 55.31
Fri 13 Dec BM70 Handicap The Last Napoleon Kylie Vella 55.28
Fri 20 Dec BM78 Handicap *Meeting Abandoned* N/A N/A
Fri 24 Jan  F&M BM78 Handicap Sei Stella   Matthew Dale  56.42
Fri 31 Jan BM78 Handicap *Meeting Abandoned* N/A N/A
Fri 7 Feb BM64 Handicap Princess Flagrant Jason Warren 55.73
Fri 14 Feb BM84 Handicap Epic Grey Lindsey Smith 55.62
Fri 21 Feb BM70 Handicap Our Gladiator Jerome Hunter 55.98
Fri 28 Feb BM78 Handicap Our Gladiator Jerome Hunter 56.20
Fri 13 Mar BM70 Handicap Human Nature Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 55.69
Fri 20 Mar Open Handicap Bella Vella
Will Clarken