Jerome Hunter ponders splitting $55,000 cash after his horse Angry Gee clocked 55.12

The story so far - Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge

After the completion of ten of the sixteen heats for the Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge this season, there are two joint leaders who have dashed around the short course in a time off 55.12 seconds. As it currently stands, the winner’s purse of $55,000 cash will be split between trainers John Macmillan and Jerome Hunter.

Mile High, trained by John Macmillan and ridden by Craig Williams, scooted around in Heat 3 to set the benchmark back on Friday 27th October. The 4 year old gelding clinched the race by two lengths and has since shown good form winning as the top weight at Morphettville.

“Unfortunately he suffered a bone chip in the win the other day (at Morphettville) so he won’t be back for another crack [at beating his time],” said Macmillan.

Macmillan praised the concept of the Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge and said with a wry smile, “it’s great we are not racing for four potatoes.”

On February 2, in Heat 10 of the series, Angry Gee equalled the 55.12 second time set by Mile High for Mornington based trainer Jerome Hunter. Given a beautiful ride by Stephanie Thornton, Angry Gee held off even money favourite Quilista by half a head.

Hunter was understandably thrilled by the performance of Angry Gee and said, “it’s hard enough to win the race itself, so I’d be happy to share the series prize.”

Amazed that two horses have topped the leaderboard with the same time and although happy to share the purse, Hunter has his eye on the whole prize.

“It’s a great incentive for trainers, I’m planning on running Angry Gee again in one of the later heats”.

Hunter was unsure how he would spend his share if he holds on for the split victory, whilst Macmillan said the money would go towards “a new hay shed for the property or some other renovations.”

The remaining six Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge heats will continue on Ladbrokes Friday Night Lights until Heat 16 on March 23rd.

Click here to view the list of winners of each heat from the Ladbrokes 55 Second Challenge.